top of page
gardenrootremedy

The Who, What & When of Herbal Tinctures

Updated: Apr 11, 2023

You are probably someone who is asking yourself, "what is a tincture?" and "what do I do with it or how to I consume it properly?" and "why does it have vodka in it?"... among other common questions related to herbal remedies! You aren't alone and we hope to answer some of your questions here.


I do feel it's important to mention that our tinctures at Garden Root Remedy use 2 primary mentrums: alcohol and apple cider vinegar. For those that do not want to take a tincture with alcohol or have concerns with their children, we have options available for "alcohol free" remedies. Apple cider vinegar products are available for expecting and nursing women too. In the future, I am looking into “gummy” options for children...wouldn't that be fun!


How do you know how often and how long you take the tinctures?


The best practice is to begin taking the tinctures 3 times daily (2-3 droppers full) for at least 30 days. Once your system starts recognizing and processing the health benefits of the herbs and you start to feel the desired response, you can reduce to 2 times daily and eventually to 1 time daily for preventative care.


Why are our formulations different from other industries?

GRR tinctures are 100% herbal extractions. We do not add water or glycerin to our products. Our herbal formulations take 8 weeks to complete. We vow to not cut corners on the brewing process, which is why we don't do any dilutions for our products. If we do not have a product already formulated and I have identified a need that a client wants to address, then I can create a herbal tea while we are waiting for the 8 week brewing process to complete the custom herbal tincture.


To give you an example, my neuropathy tea was born out of an identified need by a client. We made the tea for her while the “Neuropathy Relief” tincture was brewing. Same for my “ADHD” tincture (Memory & Focus) that has been in demand. This formulation took me a few months, but I think I have come up with a solid herbal tincture remedy! These new tinctures will be available for sale this month.


What is your experience so far with herbal tinctures?

  • None - It's new to me!

  • Very Limited - I want to know more.

  • Experienced - They are a part of my everyday health!


I am excited about the continued journey to help people deal with common and complex health issues and address them through herbal medicine. It is important to recognize that each individual is unique and one size does not fit all. Individual consultations are available for a thorough herbal medicine plan. Please do not hesitate to reach out for personal “non alcohol” formulations.


Be Well & Take Care,


Maria Nasta

Owner, Clinical Herbalist

Garden Root Remedy



Comments


bottom of page