top of page
gardenrootremedy

Migraine & Headache Relief is Here!

Updated: Feb 22, 2023

Migraines are no walk in the park. They are debilitating, depressing, and life-altering in many situations. They affect so many and partly due to genetic, environmental, and even stress factors in life. Did you know there are herbs for headache and migraine prevention too? There really is an herb for everything!


Migraines have been the bane of my existence for years. Since I was 11 years old, I have been getting migraines. Others in my family have also suffered from them. The #pain associated with migraines can take someone down for one and sometimes 2 days at a time. Migraines affect 15% of American men and 30% of American women. The #pharmaceutical #industry is bursting at the seams with #medications that can help with #migraine and #headache #prevention and #relief.



"The pharmaceutical industry is bursting at the seams with medications that can help with migraine prevention and relief. "

It seems every year they add a few more to the market for patients to consume. Unfortunately, side effects of migraine medications can be significant. Western medications are available for daily (i.e. prophylactic use), acute use, monthly prevention injection, etc.


Maria's Personal Experience

Managing headaches/migraines with #herbal #medicine has been very rewarding for me. It was probably the 3rd formulation I did initially when getting into herbal medicine. I did a “reformulation” as I continued to learn more and more about the different benefits of specific herbs and ratios. Once I started taking the herbal tincture, my headache frequency improved over a few months. I was probably having around 6 per month.


Now I have maybe 1 migraine every 1-2 months, which in general is minor and doesn’t take a lot to manage as it did previously. Additionally, I do not need to take the medications I was on for the past 18 years to prevent headaches… that’s a big win for me!


Some of the important primary herbs that are responsible for managing headaches/migraines are Feverfew, Ashwagandha, Ginkgo biloba, and Chamomile. Skullcap is a great assist and complementary herb. Catalysts and transporting herbs include Peppermint and Lobelia. I have a formulation called “Friggin’ Headache” already formulated and available or you can opt for single tincture herbs to start. Always start with the primary herbs.


If you are someone who suffers from frequent headaches or migraines, I would encourage you to reach out to us. It is also important to make sure another underlying condition such as anemia or a vitamin deficiency may not be driving frequent headaches.



It is important to discuss this with your primary provider. I can help guide you in that conversation as I do think it is important to keep them up to date but not in the dark on your journey!


Please do not hesitate to schedule a consultation to discuss the details of your health concerns and how to best approach from my perspective as a healthcare provider.



Take Care!


Maria

Clinical Herbalist

Garden Root Remedy


Comments


bottom of page